AIMP Forum

English pages => Questions => Topic started by: drugo on January 01, 2018, 22:40:41

Title: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: drugo on January 01, 2018, 22:40:41
hi
may i know why does aimp resample always ?
and what engine does it use to resample (sox? )
the most of the audio are @ 44.1k and many are at 48k
i would like to avoid the resample
thanks
Title: Re: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: Artem on January 02, 2018, 10:00:59
AIMP uses the SOX resampler only if it needed (if input freq is different to output freq)
Title: Re: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: drugo on January 02, 2018, 11:16:25
AIMP uses the SOX resampler only if it needed (if input freq is different to output freq)
hi
in an update could be added a cool feature
read the audio and adapt the resampler
just an example most of my audio is @41 and aimp is setup @48k , aimp can read the freq and change it on the fly and avoid to resample
when i play audio @48k ,aimp can read and change to 48k on the fly
my audio card is setup to 24 and 48k , wasapi -> event does aimp bypass my audio card resampler ?
thanks for the best audio player
happy new year
Title: Re: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: Artem on January 02, 2018, 20:18:51
Most of output methods requires re-initialization to change the freq, that can take a lot of time. So, in this case, cross-mixing, gapless playback will not be available. So, I have no plans to make an ability to auto-adjust the output freq.
Title: Re: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: drugo on January 02, 2018, 21:24:42
Most of output methods requires re-initialization to change the freq, that can take a lot of time. So, in this case, cross-mixing, gapless playback will not be available. So, I have no plans to make an ability to auto-adjust the output freq.
thanks

but about may i ask again my audio card is setup to 24 and 48k , aimp in wasapi -> event , does aimp bypass my audio card resampler ?
thanks again
Title: Re: why does aimp resample always? and what engine does it use?
Post by: Artem on January 02, 2018, 21:27:44
If output freq in AIMP and audio card is same - audio card resampler is not used.